Your iPhone keeps a detailed list of every location you frequent — here's how to delete your history and shut the feature off for good

There's a little-known feature built into your iPhone that keeps a history of every location you've been — and how many times you've been there.

This "Significant Locations" list can be found in your settings, but it's rather hard to find, whether that's purposeful or not.

Apple tracks, and stores, every place you've been, and how often (and when) you visit each place. But it gets even more detailed than that: Your iPhone compiles locations small enough to a single address, tracks the time you get to leave each location, and even how long it took to get to each location and by which mode of transportation.

According to Apple, the list is kept "to learn places that are significant to you." And Apple isn't alone in keeping track of this amount of location data — Google does it too, through a Location History list found in your Google account.

"This data is encrypted and stored only on your device and will not be shared without your consent," Apple says on its website. "It is used to provide you with personalized services, such as predictive traffic routing, and to build better Photos Memories."

But if you no longer want Significant Locations turned on, here's how to turn off and delete the history from your iPhone:

Similar Articles:

How to Stop Facebook App From Tracking Your Location In the Background

How to Stop Facebook App From Tracking Your Location In the Background

Facebook now lets you block background location tracking on Android

Facebook now lets you block background location tracking on Android

Facebook’s Illusion of Control over Location-Related Ad Targeting

Facebook’s Illusion of Control over Location-Related Ad Targeting

Instagram prototypes handing your location history to Facebook

Instagram prototypes handing your location history to Facebook